U2 (Ăhk-to͝ong Ba͞y-bi) Covered 2011

Depeche Mode


(Ăhk-to͝ong Ba͞y-bi) Covered


Depeche Mode  

Q Magazine

Catalog number:  


Release date:  

25 October 2011

Formats edition:  


So Cruel · Depeche Mode

The track was worked on by:

Engineer: Sie Medway-Smith

Mixed By: Depeche Mode, Sie Medway-Smith

Photography By: Anton Corbijn

Producer: Depeche Mode

Recorded By [Vocals Recorded By]: Kurt Uenala


U2 'AHK-toong BAY-bi Covered'

A host of famous names, including The Killers, Jack White, Nine Inch Nails, Snow Patrol, Patti Smith and Depeche Mode, have re-created U2’s Achtung Baby album in celebration of its 20th anniversary.

The collection of brand new recordings, 'AHK-toong BAY-bi Covered', also marks the 25th anniversary of Q Magazine, and Q Editor in Chief Paul Rees said he believes the album sets a new - and higher - benchmark for the growing popularity of free CD's. 'Not only in the sense that each of the tracks are brand new recordings by some of the biggest and most iconic names in music such as Jack White, Nine Inch Nails and Patti Smith, but also in that several of them mark the first new material we have heard from these acts in a long time – such as those by The Killers, Damien Rice and Garbage.

'This is an entirely appropriate way to mark Q's anniversary and that of Achtung Baby, one of the pivotal albums in our lifetime.'

The magazine/CD package will be available in store from October 26th and also from

The full track listing for 'AHK-toong BAY-bi Covered':

Nine Inch Nails – Zoo Station; U2 (Jacques Lu Cont Mix) – Even Better Than The Real Thing; Damien Rice – One; Patti Smith – Until The End Of The World; Garbage – Who's Gonna Ride Your Wild Horses; Depeche Mode – So Cruel; Snow Patrol – Mysterious Ways; The Fray – Trying To Throw Your Arms Around The World; Gavin Friday – The Fly; The Killers – Ultraviolet (Light My Way); Glasvegas – Acrobat; Jack White – Love Is Blindness.



1.   Nine Inch Nails "Zoo Station" 06:28

2.   U2 "Even Better Than The Real Thing" (Jacques Lu Cont Mix) 06:39

3.   Damien Rice "One" 05:26

4.   Patti Smith "Until The End Of The World" 03:36

5.   Garbage "Who's Gonna Ride Your Wild Horses" 05:16

6.   Depeche Mode "So Cruel" 06:02

7.   Gavin Friday "The Fly" 04:16

8.   Snow Patrol "Mysterious Ways" 04:48

9.   The Fray "Tryin' To Throw Your Arms Around The World" 04:33

10.   The Killers "Ultra Violet" (Light My Way) 04:53

11.   Glasvegas "Acrobat" 04:08

12.   Jack White "Love Is Blindness" 03:20


Runout CD Outer:   QMAGU2DEC2011 V01 TKQ

Mould SID Code:   IFPI 05M6

Mastering SID Code:   IFPI L016

Made in the EU. Achtung Baby Covered / (Ahk-toong Bay-bi) Covered.

Depeche Mode

Depeche Mode

Depeche Mode

Depeche Mode

Depeche Mode

Depeche Mode

Depeche Mode

Depeche Mode

Depeche Mode

Depeche Mode

Depeche Mode



Depeche Mode "So Cruel" 06:02  •  Engineer by Sie Medway-Smith. Mixed By Depeche Mode, Sie Medway-Smith. Producer by Depeche Mode. Recorded By (Vocals Recorded By) Kurt Uenala.

Martin Gore : "We first heard Achtung Baby working on Songs Of Faith And Devotion with Flood. It was the closest our bands ever got: U2 had become more electronic while Depeche Mode were working on a new rock vision. But there was never a rivalry. Bono used reverse psychology in his email, saying he totally understood why we'd say no. We just thought, Why not? So Cruel is Bono at his best, words-wise. And we couldn't tackle One - that would be almost sacrilegious"



Depeche Mode

UFA launch on 15.08.2008

Depeche Mode   Depeche Mode

"Pain and suffering in various tempos"

current date and time